There is more than one way to do it

It has been a long time since I posted anything new on this blog, and regular visitors deserve some explanation. Partly I have been busy with other things. Piano is important, but it is not my entire life. Partly I have been ill, but today I am back close to full health and fitness.

But the main reason is that when it came to putting down some of my ideas in writing I realized that they are nowhere near so certainly true or correct as I believed.

One of the things I hate about the world of piano teaching is unsubstantiated opinion presented as fact. The last thing I want to do is to be guilty of it myself. Possibly few other fields of physical endeavour have had so much utter twaddle written about them as piano technique and its acquisition. And I am especially wary of those that write with evangelic fervour about the “one true way” that only they can reveal to you.

In some future posts I’d like to look at a few examples of the nonsense that some famous (as well as some not so famous) pianists and teachers have espoused, and at some of the contradictory and mutually exclusive ideas out there about how piano should be played (that can only cause confusion to the average learner).

2 responses to “There is more than one way to do it

  1. Sorry to hear you’ve been ill Tom. It will be good to read your ideas what is nonsense. (Mind you I’m reading so much twaddle peddled as wisdom by those who quite frankly don’t care, that somebody actually telling me something is nonsensical will be a refreshing!)

  2. Nice to see you back on the blog! Good post and very true. I don’t know why, but there seems to be more twaddle written about how to play the piano than how to play the violin so I read much less about the piano than the violin. However, I am looking forward to reading your examples of nonsense!